Accelerating Justice Series: Policing, April 8, 2021

Start: Thursday, April 08, 2021 8:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (US & Canada) (GMT-05:00)

Host Contact Info: Andrea Miller, andrea@peopledemandingaction.org

Banner4-8-policing

8:00pm Eastern, 7pm Central, 6pm Mountain, 5pm Pacific

Last year's nationwide protests erupted from a long, intertwined history of race and a criminal justice system rooted in slavery, segregation and racist violence. North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper convened a special Task Force on Racial Equity in Criminal Justice.  Join us as we drill down into the groundbreaking recommendations from that Task Force.

In partnership with AMP America.org and the North Carolina Poor Peoples Campaign, we present the Accelerating Justice series out of wide concern for communities of color suffering civic disenfranchisement, trauma and lost economic opportunities.

Speakers:

Kerwin Pittman of the North Carolina Task Force on Racial Equity in Criminal Justice. and Director of Recidivism Reduction Educational Program Services will describe key Task Force Report. recommendations on law enforcement reform and tell us how to take action, no matter which state we live in.  He'll also share his experiences as a formerly incarcerated community activist working for criminal justice reform.


Tony Burnette, career law enforcement officer and community leader, will discuss the need for community healthfulness, the challenges, and how to take direct action for change.  He will also address the experience of officers of color in law enforcement and issues related to increasing their numbers.

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84681974073?pwd=MXhKTEg0ZCt5UWF6UklENldFN1V1dz09

Meeting ID: 846 8197 4073
Password: 504312
One tap mobile
+16468769923,,84681974073#,,,,0#,,504312# US (New York)
+16699006833,,84681974073#,,,,0#,,504312# US (San Jose)

Center for Common Ground is a 501(c)(3) organization.
Reclaim our Vote is a non-partisan campaign
This series is cosponsored by AMP America.org



Sponsored by
Logosquare
Ruther Glen, VA