Online Debate: Can War Ever Be Justified

Start: Wednesday, September 21, 2022 7:00 PM Eastern Daylight Time (US & Canada) (GMT-04:00)

End: Wednesday, September 21, 2022 8:30 PM Eastern Daylight Time (US & Canada) (GMT-04:00)

This is a virtual event

Host Contact Info: David, david@worldbeyondwar.org

This free, public webinar will feature a friendly debate on the proposition "War Can Never Be Justified."

Participants will be able to suggest questions for the moderator to ask.

Arguing the affirmative will be David Swanson, an author, activist, journalist, and radio host. He is executive director of World BEYOND War and campaign coordinator for RootsAction.org. Swanson's books include War Is A Lie. He hosts Talk World Radio. He is a Nobel Peace Prize nominee, and U.S. Peace Prize recipient.

Arguing the negative will be Arnold August, a Montreal-based author of three books on US/Cuba/Latin America. As a journalist he appears on TelesurTV and Press TV commenting on international geopolitical issues, is a Contributing Editor for The Canada Files and his articles are published world-wide in English, French and Spanish. He is a member of the International Manifesto Group.

Moderating will be Youri Smouter, host of 1+1, a topical history and current affairs program on his YouTube channel 1+1 hosted by Yuri Muckraker aka Youri Smouter. He is based in Southern Belgium and is a left-wing media critic, NGO critic, anti-imperialist, an advocate for Indigenous solidarity and a Native Lives Matter movement and socially liberal thinker.

The timing will be the International Day of Peace, September 21, 2022, at 1 p.m. in Honolulu, 4 p.m. in Los Angeles, 6 p.m. in Mexico City, 7 p.m. in New York, midnight in London, and Thursday at 9 a.m. in Sydney, and 11 a.m. in Aukland.


Click the "Register" button to sign up and get the Zoom link for the webinar!

NOTE: if you do not click "yes" to subscribe to emails when RSVPing for this event you will not receive follow up emails about the event (including reminders, zoom links, etc).

Sponsored by