Verses Versus War: A Webinar With the Poets George Elliott Clarke and Gary Geddes

Start: Thursday, February 24, 2022 7:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (US & Canada) (GMT-05:00)

End: Thursday, February 24, 2022 8:30 PM Eastern Standard Time (US & Canada) (GMT-05:00)

This is a virtual event

This free, public webinar will present the peace poetry of George Elliott Clarke and Gary Geddes. It is cosponsored by World BEYOND War and A Different Booklist.

The timing will be February 24, 2022, at 2:00 p.m. in Honolulu, 4:00 p.m. in Los Angeles, 6:00 p.m. in Mexico City, and 7:00 p.m. in New York, which is the same time as February 25, 2022, at 12:00 a.m. midnight in London, 3:00 a.m. in Moscow, 3:30 a.m. in Tehran, 5:30 a.m. in New Dehli, 8:00 a.m. in Beijing, 9:00 a.m. in Tokyo, 11:00 a.m. in Sydney, and 1:00 p.m. in Auckland.

The event will include presentations, followed by Q&A, from these presenters:

George Elliott Clarke is the 4th Poet Laureate of Toronto (2012-15) and the 7th Parliamentary/Canadian Poet Laureate (2016-17). A professor of English at the University of Toronto, Clarke has also taught at Duke, McGill, UBC, and Harvard. His recognitions include the Rockefeller Foundation Bellagio Centre Fellowship, Pierre Elliott Trudeau Fellows Prize, the Governor-General’s Award for Poetry, National Magazine Gold Award for Poetry, Premiul Poesis (Romania), the Eric Hoffer Book Award for Poetry, and International Fellow Poet of the Year, Encyclopedic Poetry School [2019] (China). His acclaimed titles include Whylah Falls (1990), Beatrice Chancy (1999), Execution Poems (2001), Blues and Bliss (selected poems, 2009), I & I (2008),(2008), Illicit Sonnets (U.K., 2013), Traverse (2015), and Canticles II (MMXX) (2020).

Gary Geddes has written and edited more than 50 books of poetry, fiction, drama, nonfiction, criticism, translation, and anthologies and been the recipient of a dozen national and international literary awards, including the Commonwealth Poetry Prize (Americas Region), National Magazine Gold Award, Lt.-Governor’s Award for Literary Excellence, Freedom to Read Award, and the Gabriela Mistral Prize from the government of Chile, awarded simultaneously to Octavio Paz, Vaclav Havel, Ernesto Cardenal, Rafael Alberti, and Mario Benedetti. He has lectured and performed his work in 20 countries and been translated into six languages.

You can order signed copies of the authors' books from A Different Booklist.

Moderator:

Rachel Small is Canada Organizer for World BEYOND War. She is based in Toronto, Canada, on Dish with One Spoon and Treaty 13 Indigenous territory. Rachel is a community organizer. She has organized within local and international social/environmental justice movements for over a decade, with a special focus on working in solidarity with communities harmed by Canadian extractive industry projects in Latin America. She has also worked on campaigns and mobilizations around climate justice, decolonization, anti-racism, disability justice, and food sovereignty. She has organized in Toronto with the Mining Injustice Solidarity Network and has a Masters in Environmental Studies from York University. She has a background in art-based activism and has facilitated projects in community mural-making, independent publishing and media, spoken word, guerilla theatre, and communal cooking with people of all ages across Canada. She lives downtown with her partner, kid, and friend, and can often be found at a protest or direct action, gardening, spray painting, and playing softball. Rachel can be reached at rachel@worldbeyondwar.org

Click the "Register" button to sign up and get the Zoom link for the webinar!

NOTE: if you do not click "yes" to subscribe to emails when RSVPing for this event you will not receive follow up emails about the event (including reminders, zoom links, etc).

Sponsored by