Gaza Ceasefire & Call to End the Siege - Pressure Campaign

A Gazan father holds his daughter, murdered by Israeli colonial forces, as he carries her out of the rubble of a building. October 9, 2023.

Pledge to halt your financial contributions to elected representations and their political parties until they demand a ceasefire.

Since October 7th, Israel and its military have attacked Gaza ceaselessly, targeting families in their homes, bakeries, hospitals, and more. We have witnessed the horrific murders of thousands of children, women, men, and our elders. Those who remain alive in Gaza are living without access to electricity, clean water, food, aid, or adequate access to medicine. More than a million out of a population of 2.2 million have been internally displaced.

This tragedy is more than a humanitarian disaster, as it has been created intentionally and with the support of many countries' political leadership, including those in the United States and Canada. Those in Gaza have told us that now is the time to step up our solidarity, to not only protest and publish letters but create tangible consequences for those who have failed to call for a ceasefire and an immediate end to the 17 year siege on Gaza. We need an end to the attacks and aid for the people, NOW.

One important way we can create these tangible consequences is to change the political calculus of our elected representatives by withholding our financial contributions, both to individual elected representatives and their parties. Your power extends beyond your vote. Make your voice heard by refusing to support politicians who cannot meet this minimal standard of ethical action.

We encourage folks to send as many letters as they can, to all of their representatives. By withholding our financial support, we create important stakes that our elected officials must grapple with. We will not silently continue to support or vote for those who allow atrocities like this to unfold before our eyes.

Furthermore, we encourage folks to send letters of support to the brave representatives who publicly supported a ceasefire. The list of US and Canadian elected representatives who have called for a ceasefire are listed below.

Cori Bush, Missouri
Rashida Tlaib, Michigan
Pramila Jayapal, Washington
André Carson, Indiana
Summer Lee, Pennsylvania
Barbara Lee, California
Delia Ramirez, Illinois
Jamaal Bowman, New York
Bonnie Watson Coleman, New Jersey
Jesús Chuy García, Illinois
Jonathan L. Jackson, Illinois
Alexandria Ocasio Cortez, New York
Ilhan Omar, Minnesota
Ayanna Presley, Massachusetts
Nydia Velázquez, New York
Greg Casar, Texas
Alma Adams, North Carolina
Maxwell Alejandro Frost, Florida
Maxine Waters, California
Mark Pocan, Wisconsin
Joaquin Castro, Texas
Veronica Escobar, Texas
Betty McCollum, Minnesota
James McGovern, Massachusetts
Kweisi Mfume, Maryland
Al Green, Texas
Donald Beyer, Virginia
Mary Gay Scanlon, Pennsylvania
Raúl Grijalva, Arizona
Henry “Hank” Johnson, Georgia
Becca Balint, Vermont
Gabe Vasquez, New Mexico
Mark DeSaulnier, California
John Garamendi, California
Robert Garcia, California
Jamie Raskin, Maryland
Dean Phillips, Minnesota
Sara Jacobs, California
Emanuel Cleaver, Missouri
Richard J. Durbin, Illinois

Omar Alghabra, Mississauga Centre
Shafqat Ali, Brampton Centre
Chandra Arya, Nepean
Niki Ashton, Churchill—Keewatinook Aski
Alexandre Boulerice, Rosemont—La Petite-Patrie
Tony Van Bynen, Newmarket-Aurora
Shaun Chen, Scarborough North
George Chahal, Calgary Skyview
Paul Chiang, Markham-Unionville
Michael Coteau, Don Valley East
Don Davies, Vancouver Kingsway
Lena Diab, Halifax West
Nathaniel Erskine-Smith, Beaches East York
Leah Gazan, Winnipeg Centre
Iqwinder Gaheer, Mississauga-Malton
Matthew Green, Hamilton Centre
Gord Johns, Courtenay Alberni
Peter Julian, New Westminster—Burnaby
Arielle Kayabaga, London West
Iqra Khalid, Mississauga-Erin Mills
Adam van Koeverden, Milton
Irek Kusmierczyk, Windsor—Tecumseh
Joél Lightbound, Louis-Hébert
Lindsay Mathyssen, London—Fanshawe
Elizabeth May, Saanich—Gulf Islands
Mike Morrice, Kitchener Centre
Yasir Naqvi, Ottawa Centre
Jennifer O'Connell, Pickering—Uxbridge
Patrick Weiler, West Vancouver—Sunshine Coast—Sea to Sky Country
Jean Yip, Scarborough-Agincourt
Salma Zahid, Scarborough Centre
Sameer Zuberi, Pierrefonds—Dollard
René Arsenault MP, Madawaska—Restigouche

Sponsored by