A Pledge to the People of the World

People of the World


The Refuse Fascism Pledge to the People of the World: In the Name of Humanity, We REFUSE to Accept a Fascist America must continue to resonate far and wide and become not only a needed political and moral compass, but the organized expression of a network ready to act with nonviolent determination to not allow fascism to grow and dominate and terrorize humanity. The critical days until Trump and Pence are gone from power present real and present danger. We remain vigilant.

Join Cornel West, Noam Chomsky, Lilly Wachowski, Arturo O’Farrill, Chuck D, Lalah Hathaway, Jodie Sweetin, Shepard Fairey, V (Formerly Eve Ensler), Peter Carey, Alex Winter, Rosanna Arquette, Alyssa Milano, Zoe Lister-Jones, Alan Lightman, Naomi Shihab Nye, Ashley Dawson, Carl Dix, Jessica Care Moore, VIjay Iyer, Fat Mike, and the co-authors of the Pledge, Coco Das and Andy Zee.

Add your name to this powerful repudiation of the Trump/Pence regime and be part of spreading this moral and political standard for who we must be and what we must do to prevent a fascist America.

A Pledge to the People of the World:

In the Name of Humanity, We REFUSE to Accept a Fascist America.
The Trump/Pence Regime Must Go!

We will speak, we will stand, we will shout and march. Together.

We Pledge:

To stop a regime that imperils the people of the world and the earth itself
We will take to the streets, day after day, and call forth others

We Demand Trump/Pence Out Now!
We will not stop until they’re gone.

We do not comply with:

putting targets on the backs of Black, brown, and Native people denying women control of their bodies
forcing LGBTQ people back into the closet

We do not accept:

a society ruled by hate and bigotry, ignorance and brutality, demeaning and cursing other peoples and countries and threatening them with destruction

There can be:

no more children torn from parents and locked in cages,
no more fire and fury from the mouth of a demented bully
with his finger on the nuclear trigger,
no more mass COVID death from science-hating lunacy
no more “law and order” of official terror
by bullets, batons, and tear gas

No longer can we live with:

howling mobs resurrecting Jim Crow
fascist thugs attacking our protests
the right to vote stolen by defenders of the Confederacy

We will not worship the flag or accept a theocracy.
We will not become collaborators on a march to a racist genocide.
We will not hand the future to scorchers of the planet.

Here and Now, we pledge to unite in our millions rising together in nonviolent resistance to stop a great horror.

We pledge to stay in the streets, overcoming fear and uncertainty, until this American fascism is brought to a halt.

We pledge our determination to prevail over a regime that imperils the people of the world and the earth itself.

In the Name of Humanity, We REFUSE to Accept a Fascist America.

More signers:  
Zachary Aborizk, Writer and Filmmaker
Nana Adjei-Brenyah, Writer
John Allen, Writer
Susan Andersen, Spiritual Director of Great Plains Zen Center
Gina Apostol, Novelist
Karen Bender, Author
Medea Benjamin, Founder, Code Pink
Akeel Bilgrami, Professor of Philosophy, Columbia University
Robert Bossie, Member, Priests of the Sacred Heart
Beverly Bullock, Retired theatre artist
Kathryn Burns, Retired writer/editor
Ellen Cantarow, Journalist
Dr. John Chachere, Management Scientist
Victoria Chevalier, Faculty, CUNY
Michael Coard, Attorney
Matthew Cooke, Filmmaker
Ashley Dawson, Professor, Writer
Felipe De Brigard, Associate Professor
Alison Hawthorne Deming, Writer/Regents Professor, University of Arizona
Anthony DiMaggio, Professor, writer
Laura Duhan-Kaplan, Rabbi & Professor, Vancouver School of Theology
Ramona Dvorak, Associate Psychiatrist at Harvard University Health Services
Vaneik Echeverria, Interdisciplinary Theater Artist
Jack Eidt, Writer and Environmental Organizer
Mary Ennis, Immigration lawyer
Crystal Evans, Philosopher, psychologist, teacher
Nina Felshin, Curator
Glen E. Friedman, Artist
Joyce Frohn, Writer
Rebecca Fusco, Artist
Sherrill Futrell, Historian
Rabbi Jonah Geffen, Campus Rabbi at Hunter College
Christopher Giaco, Owner, Page Against the Machine Books
Henry Giroux, Writer
Rabbi Gordon Gladstone, D.D., Rabbi Emeritus, Temple Beth Am, Bayonne NJ
Jill Goldman, Filmmaker and activist
Wendy Gordon, Writer
Lawrence Grossberg, Distinguished Professor of Communication
Catherine Grosso, Professor of Law
Heidi Haaland, Writer / Filmmaker
Kate Hamill, Actor / playwright
Dr. Heidi Hoefinger
Brendan Hogan, Professor, NYU
Joshua Holland, Writer and Editor
"Simi" Hoque, Professor, Drexel University
Asti Hustvedt, Writer
Vijay Iyer, Musician
Maurice Jackson, History Professor
Burt Jacobson, Founding Rabbi, Kehilla Community Synagogue
Robert N. Johnson, Professsor of Philosophy
Rev. Dr. Jeffrey Kuan, President, Claremont School of Theology
James Lafferty, Executive Director Emeritus, Los Angeles National Lawyers Guild
Pamela Laskin, Professor
Eric Laursen, Writer and activist
Leonard J. Lehrman, Founder/Laureate Conductor, Jewish Music Theater of Berlin
Cynthia Linet, Esq., Attorney
Gary Maveal, Professor Emeritus, University of Detroit Mercy School of Law
Timothy McCarthy, Historian, educator, and human rights activist
Nina McConigley, Writer
Sarah McKee, Retired Federal Prosecuter
Stephanie Mendez, Journalist
Chris Mollica, Actor
Rhonda Monaghan. Mt Shasta City Treasurer
Fred Moten    
Patrick O'Hearn, Instrumenalist, composer
John O'Regan, Professor of Critical Applied Linguistics, UCL Institute of Education
Miriam Oppenheimer, Professor
Jo-Ann Pilardi, Prof. Emerita, Towson University, MD
Ann Ploeger, Photographer
Lara Prescott, Novelist
Rev. Dave Reppert, United Church of Christ pastor
Dr. Phillip Rice, Emergency Physician
Rosalie Riegle, Author and Catholic Worker supporter
Kathryn Riss, Christian minister and public worker,
Lawrence Rosenwal, Professor of English and Peace & Justice Studies, Wellesley College
Victoria Ross, Executive Director at WNY Peace Center
Rubén G. Rumbaut, Distinguished Professor, University of California, Irvine
Monica Santis, Producer, Director, Screenwriter
Chaitali Sen, Novelist
Candace Shepard, Visual artist
William Shih, Writer
John Sigel, Professor
Matthew Skoller, Musician/Songwriter
Gar Smith, Director, Environmentalists Against War
Meryl Soto-Schwartz, Professor of English
Jason Stanley        
"Kelli" Stanley, Author
Katea Stitt, Program Director, WPFW - Pacifica Radio
David Strathairn
Paul Street, Journalist and author
Chrissy Stroop        
David Stump, Catholic priest
Tom Tongier
Laura van den Berg, Novelist
Helen Verno, Producer
Jim Vrettos, Sociologist/Host of the Radical Imagination cable TV show
Ayelet Waldman, Author
Victor Wallis, Author
Stacey Ward, Attorney
Sheila Weinberg, Rabbi
Wil Wheaton, Entertainer
Michael Yates, Monthly Review Foundation
David Zeiger, Filmmaker

Sponsored by
New York, NY

To: People of the World
From: [Your Name]

Fill in the form to sign this Pledge