Citizens UK’s Living Wage for Careworkers Charter

We all relied on the one million careworkers on the frontline of the UK’s fight against the pandemic. Over half of frontline careworkers earn below the voluntary Living Wage of £9.90 an hour (£11.05 in London) and are struggling to keep their heads above water.  

As careworkers, care recipients, care commissioners, council leaders, politicians and community leaders, we all agree that no careworker deserves poverty pay. We have applauded careworkers – now is the time to match our applause with a guarantee that they will earn enough to live a decent life.

We call on the UK Government to provide the £1.4 billion in additional funding so that every care sector worker that delivers publicly funded care can be paid at least the voluntary Living Wage.

Signatories of the Charter include:

Rt Revd Paul Butler

Lord Bishop of Durham

Rt Revd Christine Hardman

Bishop of Newcastle  

Rt Revd John Arnold

RC Bishop of Salford

Sam Monaghan

Chief Executive of the Methodist Homes Alliance

AnneMarie Plas

Clap for Carers

Matthew Bolton

Executive Director, Citizens UK

Danny Sriskandarajah,

CEO, Oxfam

Alison Garnham

CEO of Child Poverty Action Group

Imam Qari Muhammad Asim

Makkah Mosque Leeds


Robert Stephenson-Padron

Care Worker and Cardiff Citizens member

Care Home Manager and founder, Penrose Care

Rt Revd James Newcombe

Lord Bishop of Carlisle

Averil Pooten Watan

Care Home Manager and Church Warden St Barnabas

Abid Khan

Cheadle Mosque

Bishop Tony Parry

New Testament Church of God

Dr Laurence Bender

Liberal Syngagogue Elstree

Dr Mohammad Mozaffari

Leeds Muslim Youth Group

Imam Abdul Basith

Newcastle Central Mosque

Imam Dr Musharraf Hussein

Karimia Institute

Jackie Hinchcliffe

Careworker - Woodleigh Catalyst Choices

Julia Burton-Jones

Diocese of Rochester Dementia Project Officer

Julia Wysocka

International Community Organisation of Sunderland

Noel Reyes

Careworker - Leicestershire Philipion Chaplaincy

Rabbi Aaron Goldstein

Northwood and Pinner Liberal Synagogue

Rabbi Adam Frankenberg

Rabbi Amanda Golby

Rabbi Andrea Zanardo

Brigton and Hove Reform

Rabbi Danny Rich

Liberal Judaism

Rabbi Debbie Young-Somers

Reform Judaism

Rabbi Dr Barbara Borts

Darlington Hebrew Congregation

Rabbi Dr Deborah Kahn-Harris

Leo Baeck College

Rabbi Dr Jackie Tabick

Liberal Judaism

Rabbi Elli Sarah

Brighton and Hove Progressive

Rabbi Fabian Sborovsky

Menorah Synagogue

Rabbi Gershon Sillins

Rabbi Hadassah Davis

Jewish Community of Berkshire, Reading Liberal

Rabbi Igor Zinkov

Liberal Judaism

Rabbi Ilit Shillor

Reform Judaism

Rabbi Janet Darley

Greater London

Rabbi Jeremy Gordon

New London Synagogue

Rabbi Jonathan Wittenberg

New North London

Rabbi Keren Yuval

Southgate Progressive Synagogue

Rabbi Lawrence Becker

Sukkat Shalom Reform

Rabbi Mark Goldsmith

Edgware and Hendon Reform

Rabbi Maurice Michaels

Bournmouth Reform

Rabbi Michael Hilton


Rabbi Miriam Berger

Finchley Reform

Rabbi Monique Mayer

Rabbi Naomi Goldman,

Kol Chai Hatch End Reform Jewish Community

Rabbi Paul Freedman

Radlett Reform Synagogue

Rabbi Rachel Benjamin

Rabbi Richard Jacobi

Rabbi Roberta Harris

Eastbourne Liberal Jewish Community

Rabbi Roni Tabick

New Stoke Newington Shul

Rabbi Sandra Kviat

Crouch End Chavurah

Rabbi Sybil Sheridan

Rabbi Sylvia Rothschild


Rabbi Warren Elf

Faith Network Manchester

Rabbi Zahavit Shalev

New North London

Revd Hugh Nelson

Bishop Designate St German (Truro)

Robert Stephenson-Padron

Penrose Care Manager

Rt Revd Alan Wilson

Bishop of Buckingham

Rt Revd Andrew Watson

Bishop of Guildford

Rt Revd Colin Fletcher

Bishop of Dorchester

Rt Revd Dr Alan Smith

Bishop of St Albans

Rt Revd Dr Emma Ineson

Bishop of Penrith

Rt Revd Graham Usher

Bishop of Norwich

Rt Revd Guli Francis Dehqani

Bishop of Loughborough

Rt Revd John Holbrook

Bishop of Brixworth

Rt Revd John Perumbalath

Bishop of Bradwell

Rt Revd John Stroyan

Bishop of Warwick

Rt Revd Karowei Dorgu

Bishop of Southwark

Rt Revd Marcus Stock

RC Diocese of Leeds

Rt Revd Martin Warner

Bishop of Chichester

Rt Revd Martyn Snow

Bishop of Leicester

Rt Revd Olivia Graham

Bishop of Reading

Rt Revd Paul Bayes

Bishop of Liverpool

Rt Revd Paul Slater

Leeds Area Bishop

Rt Revd Pete Wilcox

Bishop of Sheffield

Rt Revd Peter Hill

Acting Bishop of Chelmsford

Rt Revd Philip Mountstephen

Bishop of Truro

Rt Revd Richard Atkinson

Bishop of Bedford

Rt Revd Richard Jackson

Bishop of Hereford

Rt Revd Rob Wickham

Bishop of Edmonton

Rt Revd Robert Byrne

RC Bishop of Hexham and Newcastle

Rt Revd Ruth Worsley

Bishop of Taunton

Rt Revd Terrence Drainey

RC Bishop of Middlesborough

Sarah Havard

BetterTogether, Manager

Revd Kerry Tankard

Chair of Yorkshire West Methodist District

Revd Canon Dr Ellen Loudon

Liverpool Cathedral

Revd Tim Boocock

Leeds South and West Methodist

Andy Smith

Principal of The Djanogly City Academy, Nottingham

Julia Wysocka

International Community Organisation of Sunderland

Paul Worley

Sycamore Academy Headteacher

Revd Angela Hughes

Stainbeck United Reformed Church

Rev Clare Corley

St John's Wortley and Farnley

Revd Heston Groenewald

All Hallows Leeds

Rev John Cavanagh

St David's Pantasaph

Sponsored by