Resign due to January 6th Sedition

Senator Ted Cruz, Attorney General Ken Paxton, and the 16 Members of the U.S. Congress from Texas

On January 6th, 2021, a violent mob of extremists motivated by conspiracies that were sowed by the White House stormed into the Capitol, forcing legislators and their staff to barricade with the protection of armed guards. After hearing an address with yet more incendiary rhetoric from the outgoing president, they forced their way inside the Capitol building, carried a Confederate flag through the rotunda, and threatened lawmakers and our seat of government in Washington DC.

Anyone involved in inspiring, encouraging, and abetting these terrorists must be held responsible for their actions. Unfortunately, they have been enabled by a large cross section of extremist politicians, many of whom represent Texans. They have made a mockery of democracy by embracing the fascist rhetoric of a far-right figurehead with a far-right movement behind him. They have suppressed votes while lying about the nature of our election system, sullying our elections while opposing their legally legitimate losses. They have proven themselves entirely unfit for office.

They must resign.

Organizations around the State of Texas hereby call for the resignation of the Texas politicians complicit in the actions on January 6th, 2021:

Senator Ted Cruz

Attorney General Ken Paxton

Representative Jody Arrington

Representative Brian Babin

Representative Michael C. Burgess

Representative John R. Carter

Representative Michael Cloud

Representative Pat Fallon

Representative Louie Gohmert

Representative Lance Gooden

Representative Ronny Jackson

Representative Troy Nehls

Representative August Pfluger

Representative Pete Sessions

Representative Beth Van Duyne

Representative Randy Weber

Representative Roger Williams

Representative Ron Wright

Additionally, we support the resolution of Representative Cori Bush to expel the seditious members of Congress attempting to undermine the legitimacy of our democratic election results, and call for the immediate invocation of the 25th Amendment to remove our aspiring dictator from the Oval Office.

We believe in the power of democracy and the power of the People to make progress in the United States. Those who have proven that they would prefer to destroy the country rather than hold Trump accountable must surrender their power permanently. Their power is vested in us and they have shown themselves willing to use it abusively.

Sponsored by

To: Senator Ted Cruz, Attorney General Ken Paxton, and the 16 Members of the U.S. Congress from Texas
From: [Your Name]

Your actions leading up to and on 1/6/2021 to overturn the 2020 election have shown you are unfit for office. Resign Now! - Your Texas Constituent