A Roundtable on Rank and File Reform Movements

Thursday, September 10th at 8 pm ET/7 pm CT/6 pm MT/5 pm PT

The DSLC is excited to give DSA members a chance to hear about both past and current union reform efforts to better understand how and why union activists go about revitalizing the labor movement. The Roundtable will feature leaders from important union reform efforts in healthcare, auto and transportation.

The moment is now for a reform movement inside the Service Employees International Union (SEIU). The Housestaff for a Democratic Union is running a slate of candidates for the leadership of the SEIU Committee on Interns & Residents (CIR), a union that represents nearly 20,000 graduate medical trainees who work in many of the nation’s safety-net hospitals. https://www.hoducir.com/

Ballots are out now and will be counted in October. Several DSA members are part of their campaign for union democracy, commitment to high-participation organizing, and support for reforms like Medicare for All.  

Join us for an evening of discussion and debate.

Chair: Ashley Payne – DSLC Steering Commission and SEIU 1021 leader

Lily Ostrer, Candidate for Florida Regional Vice President and Greg Gabrellas, Candidate for Secretary-Treasurer – CIR Housestaff for a Democratic Union

Scott Houldieson, United Auto Workers Local 551 and Steering Committee Member of Unite All Workers for Democracy (UAWD)

Ken Paff – Teamsters for a Democratic Union (TDU) National Organizer

Short presentations will be followed by questions and discussion.